Promise Me You’ll Always Remember ….

“You’re braver than you believe, and stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.” ~Christopher Robin to Pooh 

You're Braver Than You Believe 2 - Christoper Robin to Pooh

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V8BQuI5b22o

The quote above comes from the much loved children’s character Winnie the Pooh. Author A. A. Milne was an English author, best known for his books about the teddy bear Winnie-the-Pooh and for various children’s poems. There are many “Pooh-isms” that can be found in quotes from Milne in his writings. Actually it’s amazing with the quotes that come from many children’s authors, and how they speak to us as children but then can also speak to us in later life as adults. The wisdom that comes from many of these authors such as A.A. Milne and Dr. Seuss is truly remarkable.

It’s been a whole week since I last did a post. But then again, it was 3 whole years between my first post and my second, so a week isn’t so bad I guess. It was a busy week last week at work for me, and I took some of my work downtime to read a few of other people’s blogs and to try and learn some of the etiquette around blogging in general. I also have gained a few followers, family and fellow bloggers, so understanding and trying to learn the blog etiquette is important to me, especially since I now have some followers who are experienced fellow bloggers.

We’ve also had a few people join us at the bottom of the pool the last few days. Welcome to all of you. It’s a comforting feeling to Brenda to know that she has the love and support of so many people, and you can believe that she appreciates it and it gives her comfort as she prepares for the fight ahead. We spent the latter part of last weekend with family on the island, and Brenda stayed a few days with her brother Bob and sister-in-law Gail while I conducted some business that I had to do while I was over there. The time there was good for her. Gail even got her knitting again and Brenda did couple of scarves while I travelled up and down the island.

Receiving a terrible diagnosis like cancer from your doctor must be devastating. I say that as an observer to Brenda, and I can only imagine how it made her feel when she received that terrible news. It’s amazing though, how many stories we have been made aware of as friends and family become aware, and how many stories people have of loved ones or close friends and family that they have had that have also received this terrible diagnosis, and they came through it and have been cancer free. I stumbled across a blog this week as I was contemplating my next post. This blog really moved me, because to me it highlighted two extremely important facts as the writer recounted her personal experiences as her sister bravely fought the diagnosis of Non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma. What really shone through to me in this blog was the fact that the importance of laughter in healing can not be stressed enough (remember the funny bone?), and how the writer was there by her sister’s side during most of the treatments and chemo and other appointments. Her sister wasn’t alone. The love shone through, and the blog really showed that too.

The last few days, the phone has rung more that I can recall it ringing for a very long time.  As empty nesters, our phone usually only rings in the evening with maybe a friend calling, and then it’s usually to discuss the weather tomorrow and who is picking who up for tomorrows tee time. Family and friends have been calling, and many more calls seem to be coming in during the day from the hospital or the doctors office as they prepare Brenda for surgery with her pre-op procedural appointments and such. Hearing from family and friends and co-workers is very comforting, and if nothing else, the calls from the doctors offices as they set appointment times with Brenda at least moves things along in a positive direction. I’ve managed to rearrange my schedule rather effectively so that I can be around the city as much as possible from now until the New Year.

This Monday will be a visit to the hospital for Brenda and I as she goes through some pre-op tests in preparation for surgery on Monday, December 2nd. The next Big Day is getting closer. But that’s a good thing.

Take care, all. Talk again, soon.

6 thoughts on “Promise Me You’ll Always Remember ….

  1. I send my good wishes and karma to you and Brenda. I will be thinking about you both next Monday.

    You have reminded me that finding humour is also the key to getting through this situation. A fact I am afraid I forgot this last weekend…….so off to watch a comedy programme. Maybe in the mornings I am better to watch “Frazier” than the news, after all there’s not much I can do at the moment about world peace!

    Love Denise.

  2. Thanks, Denise … Brenda and I had a nice weekend with friends this past weekend enjoying our national football final, the Grey Cup. And you and Michael are in our thoughts as well. Next week is a big week for both of you and for us, and I’m sure that the positive thoughts and energy moving back and forth across the Atlantic between us could power each of our homes for at least a year!

  3. Monday is my Birthday, I know who all of my wishes will be for when I blow out the candles. Thinking of you and supporting you in the pool, I was there and I managed to surface. Brenda will too.

    Andrea xo

    • Thanks, Andrea … it’s amazing how many people have been there and come through the other side. And thanks so much for your good wishes, especially on your birthday. Brenda and I send our best wishes to you on your happy day as well. And we hope you get lots of prezzies!

  4. Pingback: Time to Say Goodbye | stilllearing

Leave a Reply

