Advice from Helen Keller ….

PROLOGUE

Wow … this is amazing to me … as a little side note, I was sitting at the computer this morning and wondering if the blog that I began so long ago was still here or not. You see, some life altering experiences have been affecting the life of my immediate family, and they gave me cause to ponder about a therapeutic way to release some of the stress and face up to the reality of what is happening to my family and I, and more specifically my wife. I remembered my WordPress blog that I started so long ago, and once I finally managed to find it in my mess of URL links, I opened it up and much to my surprise and delight discovered that my original post was still there. What was truly amazing, was that I started this little venture of blogging almost 3 years ago to the day, on November 7, 2010, and although the date is different, the day is the same. Sunday, November 7th was when I started this blog originally, and Sunday November 10th is when I will continue it. My original intent was to “limit” my posts to once a month, and I guess I overachieved that goal as this is now three years later ….

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I still think about the quote from The Three Bones almost every day, but the quote that I truly want to discuss today is another quote that has meant much to me over many years past, and this one is actually older than the one that this blog is named for. Helen Adams Keller was born on June 27, 1880 in Tuscumbia, Alabama. In 1882, she fell ill and was struck blind, deaf and mute. Beginning in 1887, Keller’s teacher, Anne Sullivan, helped her make tremendous progress with her ability to communicate, and Keller went on to college, graduating in 1904. In 1920, Keller helped found the ACLU. During her lifetime, she received many honors in recognition of her accomplishments. This quote has a few different variations, and they all mean the same thing, but the first quote I remember and have carried with me for so many years is the first variation that I came across when I Googled it so that is what I am going with here. It just seems appropriate.

“Keep your face to the sunshine, and you can not see the shadows.” – Helen Keller

It is amazing to me to think that such a strong and inspiring woman that was born in the 19th century and who became blind and deaf when she was just 18 months old, would have the insight and have such a quote attributed to her. I have thought about this many times over the years, and then realized that although Helen Adams Keller could not see the sun in the same way as you and I, she could feel it and knew exactly how to express it in such an eloquent way.

My wife received some bad news the other day when we visited her doctor after some tests that she was undergoing, and this news involves a life altering change that I know is bothering her and is giving her cause for great concern. It is important for her to know, and I plan on showing her every single day, that no matter what physical changes her illness may cause or what kind of emotional stress she may be facing, that I am always there for her and will be right beside her every step of the way. As is her family. As are her very close friends. As is her husband. In the same way that Helen Keller felt the sun on her face so that she knew which way to face, my wife will feel the love and support of me, her family, and her friends. She will know which way to face. I guarantee it.

Why, you may ask yourself, should she feel this love and support? Well, just take the second sentence from the same quote attributed to Helen Adams Keller, and use that for the same inspiration that I did …

“It’s what the sunflowers do.” – Helen Keller

Sunflower Field 2

Leave a Reply

